Celtic’s Poppy Shame

11 06 2013

For those who don’t know me, I worked in security, largely stewarding at football matches across Scotland last year.

Most shifts were generally the same in many aspects. Fans turned out in their thousands to watch their beloved team play, whomever it may be.

You get the one guy who shouts and screams at every kick of the ball. There’s always the guy who turns up blind drunk and there’s your typical, little sect of hooligans. The smoker in toilets and the plain, crazy one who sings on his own.

Then there is Celtic FC.

Before I continue, I must point out that I was employed by a well-known security firm in Glasgow and not by Celtic FC themselves.

No self-respecting person would ever sell their soul for the thirty pieces of silver that Lawwell offers from his corrupt coffers.

I reported at Celtic Park on Remembrance Sunday 2012 for a shift to steward their match against St Johnstone. I wore a poppy, as most British people do on Remembrance Day to remember and give thanks to our many war-dead. My supervisor ordered me to remove it, and said: “We’re not here to express opinion.”

Now, any person (not just Rangers fans) with two brain cells about them would know that it’s not about expressing opinion and more along the lines of showing respect.

My supervisor also told me that me wearing my poppy would “bring about fears for my safety.”

It would be very naïve to think that Celtic FC had absolutely no say in regards to this matter and left the decision of this matter in the hands of my employer.

The boardroom of Celtic FC was clearly yet again, bowing to the demands of the disgusting minority that oppose anything British.

Yet, most of whom don’t mind claiming money from the state or indeed, using the good, old British passport. Or banging on about how they were the first ‘British’ club to win the Big Jug.

Even their players didn’t wear a poppy on their shirts during the match.

I did, however, see a few paying Celtic fans (not many these days) enter Parkhead wearing the wee red flower. No concerns for their safety, eh?

Typical behaviour from them, to be fair. They consistently get away with it too, as the lazy standard of journalism fails to challenge them and question them on this type of stuff.

Also, according to the LeggoLand blog at the time, Peter Lawwell appeared to have refused a poppy by a Sky production team before an interview leading up to the Celtic v Barcelona showdown in last year’s Champions League.

Needless to say, not many of us were surprised at that, were we?

So, what made Celtic FC exempt from doing what the rest of whole country was doing? Only Mr Lawwell and his board of directors can answer that.

And why they consistently get bullied by a small minority of so-called fans, who quite frankly, any club could do without.

This sort of blatant, sickening behaviour never gets reported though. Journalism is at an all time low in Scotland and there is no signs of it improving anytime soon.

I even once had an argument on Twitter with a Celtic fan who said that he was “delighted that Celtic refused to wear the poppy” and that he “supported most IRA killings.”

We are all probably thinking the same, expletive response to that, so no need to go into detail.

Yet, these people are still allowed through the turnstiles to turn a football stadium into an IRA-theme park.

They conveniently happen to slip under the radar of David Brannan and chums. Maybe he’s too busy reading Rangers blogs and snooping on opposing fans through social media.

Don’t call him and ask though. You won’t get by the receptionist. Very dignified club, is Celtic.

Rotten to the absolute core.

Any football club should be ashamed to have these so-called fans who behave and speak in such a manner.

However, it won’t stop me turning out every year with a poppy on my chest and a heart full of pride.

Our troops will be always welcome at Ibrox and we will always be delighted to greet them there.

For we are the people.

And Scotland’s number one.

P.S. Don’t worry, I complained to every superior of mine at the company I worked for. Never once got a dignified or honest answer. Says it all, really.

P.P.S. Shortly after I first published this story on my old blog, I was dismissed by Securigroup Ltd. Celtic’s security team told them that they didn’t want me near their stadium due to my blogs and that I was being “borderline sectarian”. Securigroup are just another organisation who are bowing to the demands of Lawwell’s Celtic. Beware of them, Bears.


Actions

Information

One response

11 06 2013
Alan Dunnachie

Scotlands shame THEN
Scotlands shame NOW
Scotlands shame FOREVER.

and today I noticed that the SFA failed to ratify there new anti sectarian law it time for next season Mr Lawwell’s interference no doubt hate to think if the boot was on the other foot I wait with baited breath.

Leave a comment